2018 Florida Minimum Wage Changes
Effective January 1, 2018, the minimum wage increased from $8.10 to $8.25 per hour for most employees in Florida, with exceptions for tipped employees, some student workers, and other exempt occupations. The federal minimum wage is $7.25.
The annual calculation is based on the percentage increase in the federal Consumer Price Index for Urban Wage Earners and Clerical Workers in the South Region for the 12-month period prior to September 1, 2017. The Florida minimum wage was $8.05 per hour in 2015, $7.93 per hour in 2014, $7.79 per hour in 2013, and $7.67 per hour in 2012. Due to the inflation and cost of living formula used, a minimum wage increase did not occur in January 2016.
The Federal Fair Labor Standards act defines special minimum wage rates applicable to certain types of workers. Employees may be paid under the Florida minimum wage if they fit into one of the following categories:
- Florida Tipped Minimum Wage – $5.23 – Employees who earn a certain amount of tips every month may be paid a special cash minimum wage, but must earn at least $8.25 including tips every hour.
Download the updated Florida Minimum Wage Poster here.
An employer found liable for intentionally violating minimum wage requirements is subject to a fine of $1,000 per violation, payable to the state.
Need help ensuring your Human Resources and Pay practices are up to date? Contact our HR team today!